(Text and photos by Sarthak Kathayat)

February 3, 2017, we land on the grounds of Surajkund International Crafts Fair. We are here for our college assignments. One class and six groups yet each one of us takes back home a different story and a different experience. This is the 31st edition of Surajkund it was the second year that we visited this fair. Two years and a number of stories from each of us. But what about the one who has been there for the past 31 years?

What would Surajkund Craft Fair would say and share with us from his 31 years of existence?

1.

By Sarthak KathayatWhen will you? : I see him. I see him there standing at the entrance from day to night for the whole 15 days yet I never see him talking to anyone. I often ask him whether he is being shy but he doesn’t speak. I am here waiting for him to open his eyes but he seems to be lost in a very deep thought.

2.

By Sarthak KathayatA sneak peek: Whenever am free, i come here. I come here to take a sneak peek of my friend. It surely adds color and make my aura more vibrant but makes me wonder whether it’s going to depart from me soon?

3.

By Sarthak KathayatEpitome of love: I used to wonder what really love is until i met him. I meet him every year and he is always here, in a different posture every time. I always look back at him to know the definition of love.

4.

By Sarthak KathayatCenter of attraction: Each year i witness cameras and more like her with a mike in their hands. Do they come to me for a special purpose? They make me feel just like any other celebrity. Am I so famous on the other side of the world?

5.

By Sarthak KathayatMusic to my ears: How can i forget them? It’s really boring when no one tends to talk to you yet i never feel bored. All because of them. The cultural blend in their music keeps me entertained every time.

6.

By Sarthak KathayatAm not alone:  Am not the only one. Their music is quite luring. It can lure anyone around. They can make anyone dance on their tunes. At times I get amused on how people dance to their tunes.

7.

By Sarthak KathayatThe energy: I feel a rise in the level of energy  around whenever I hear them thump the ground. It shakes the ground when the walk past the crowd. Their thumping doesn’t make me feel scared. I rather get rejuvenated with every thump that their feet makes with the ground.

8.

By Sarthak KathayatCulture in their beats:  The thumping diminishes when they begin to beat their drums. Each time they beat their drums, I feel the how entertaining their cultural music is.

9.

By Sarthak KathayatAura of joy: Each year i see the blends of culture and experience an atmosphere of joy around me. I believe i give everyone a memory to cherish before they depart from me.

 

Leave a Reply

